In Mom's Heels

A shoe obsessed mom's Weight Watchers Journey with Celiac Disease

I am Pretty…Strong

Leave a comment

Wow. Last week’s cheeky post garnered a lot of responses on my Facebook link. Thank you to all who commented. Thank you all for the advice, and workout dates we have set up.

I DO notice the fit of my clothes is different. Today I am wearing a work-branded golfing-type vest. When purchased last summer it was snug so I never bothered to use the zipper. Now, it’s loose. My pants? They keep falling down. I’ve measured – another 2″ off my waist!

The weight is slow to come off. I know. Today I weighed in and was down 0.4 lbs for a total of 16.8 lbs. The difference this time around from the last time I was on Weight Watchers? One is I was unaware of my Celiac Disease and two, I work out like mad now where as before all I did was run. With not knowing about my disease, my body wasn’t retaining the nutrients it needed. I was able to lose the weight easily, but I wasn’t healthy. Now, my body has repaired the damage and I retain the nutrients (good and bad), so the weight loss is slower. Second, muscle weighs more than fat, I know. This is why this time, I am also tracking measurements. I see me getting leaner, even if it’s not lighter.

Some days I have to force myself to go to the gym. Some days I’m dying to get there. I love following a couple of strong women on Instagram and seeing the exercises they post; and imitating them in class (the ladies in Boot Camp don’t like me much though).  I have a confession; I love lifting!! I have become obsessed with working my upper body (I actually have a pretty strong lower body) and core (even though I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, Strongly dislike core exercises).  I love feeling the struggle as I add more weight and push against the resistance until I just can’t do it any more. What a high!!

So, as I plan out my week of kids activities (hockey & soccer) and exercises for myself, what will you be doing?

Cheers,

~S.

Leave a Reply

